Daily "Recent Prince George's County News" updates were suspended in early March 2016. They were compiled primarily from retweets of news headlines. Those retweets continue, but in unformatted and unarchived form at PG-Politics-Briefs. To follow such headlines on a current basis, follow @pgpolitics on Twitter.

Thursday, January 06, 2005

PG legislators act to raise taxes

(Updated December 2, 2005)
Every Prince George's County legislator who actually attended the recent special session of the General Assemby voted to raise taxes on poor and working people.

Even though the people of Prince George's County have repeatedly voted against tax increases, and even though the Governor will veto this tax increase bill, those legislators seemed determined to override the both the veto and the will of the voters and raise taxes anyway.

Here is a list of Prince George's County legislators who sponsored this tax on poor and working people:
District 21
  • Senator John A. Giannetti, Jr.*
  • Delegate Barbara Frush
  • Delegate Brian R. Moe
District 22
  • Senator Paul G. Pinsky
  • Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines
  • Delegate Anne Healey
District 23
  • Senator Leo E. Green*
  • Delegate Mary A. Conroy
  • Delegate James W. Hubbard
  • Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.
District 24
  • Delegate Joanne C. Benson
District 25
  • Senator Ulysses Currie
  • Delegate Dereck E. Davis
  • Delegate Melony G. Griffith
District 26
  • Delegate Obie Patterson
  • Delegate Veronica Turner

District 27
  • Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr.
  • Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr.*
    * Indicates legislators who are attorneys and may have a personal financial interest in the outcome of tort reform legislation.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment