Daily "Recent Prince George's County News" updates were suspended in early March 2016. They were compiled primarily from retweets of news headlines. Those retweets continue, but in unformatted and unarchived form at PG-Politics-Briefs. To follow such headlines on a current basis, follow @pgpolitics on Twitter.

Monday, April 29, 2013

PG Legislators' Voting Rights Hypocrisy

The 2013 session of the Maryland General Assembly passed a law entitled "Improved Access to Voting" intended to make it easier for citizens to register and vote.

Every Prince Georges County member voted for final passage, except Del. Geraldine Valentino-Smith, who was absent.

The General Assembly also passed a law entitled "Prince George's County - School System - Academic Revitalization and Management Effectiveness Initiative."

Every Prince Georges County member voted for final passage, except Sen. C. Anthony Muse and Del, Aisha Braveboy, who voted No, and Del. Tawanna Gaines and Del. Jay Walker, who were excused or absent.

The primary purpose of the latter bill was to overrule the will of the voters of the county and limit the authority of officials for whom they had voted.

So, while almost all of our Senators and Delegates voted to made it easier to vote, they also showed their distrust of, and contempt for, the voters by acting to set aside the results of the voter's choices.

Apparently they want more people to go through the motions of voting, but won't honor the voters' choices.

Disgusting hypocrisy in my opinion.

No comments:

Post a Comment