Daily "Recent Prince George's County News" updates were suspended in early March 2016. They were compiled primarily from retweets of news headlines. Those retweets continue, but in unformatted and unarchived form at PG-Politics-Briefs. To follow such headlines on a current basis, follow @pgpolitics on Twitter.

Friday, April 03, 2009

Federal judge rules PG strip club law unconstitutional (PG Oathbreakers)

Comment: All Maryland elected officials swear a solemn oath to "support the Constitution of the United States" and to support the Constitution and laws of the State of Maryland. The Maryland Constitution also provides:
Art. 44 . That the provisions of the Constitution of the United States, and of this State, apply, as well in time of war, as in time of peace; and any departure therefrom, or violation thereof, under the plea of necessity, or any other plea, is subversive of good Government, and tends to anarchy and despotism.
Most of them routinely break their oaths, apparently believing that whatever end they seek justifies ignoring the rights of the people under the Federal and State Constitutions and any promises made to respect those rights. Sometimes the courts blow the whistle on their unconstitutional actions. Here is one such case.

Maryland Judge Rules in Favor of Strip Clubs.
wjla.com, 2 Apr 2009
A federal judge has stripped away a law putting limits on strip clubs in Prince George's County.

For years, government officials in the county have been trying to curtail the way adult entertainers perform in the county's strip clubs. In fact, a bill was drawn up that laid out some rules, such as no touching by the patrons. But on Thursday a judge said the bill went to far.
* * *
Thursday, U.S. District Judge Marvin Garbis ruled the bill unconstitutionally broad, adding that it would have punished the owners of FedEx field if players patted each other on the rear.
Most current members of the Prince George's House and Senate Delegations who were then in office broke their oaths and voted for this unconstitutional law.  No current members voted against it.  Delegates Barbara Frush, James Proctor, Joseph Vallario, and Michael Vaughn did not vote.

(Posted 3 Apr 2009)

No comments:

Post a Comment